Home > Music, music news > There Goes My Baby Charlie Wilson

There Goes My Baby Charlie Wilson

Charlie Wilson

When you have created a name by earning fame and recognition two decades ago, as the lead singer of “The Gap Band,” going as a solo act could be tough. So here we are, fast forward to 2009, one would ask if Charlie Wilson could make a come back, and still have the musical stamina and creative genius to compete with the latest “beats”, and music trends in the 21st century R&B. Charlie Wilson has risen to the occasion and managed to fit right in, with people like Robin Thicke, Justin Timberlake and Ne-Yo, extending his act of yesterday to a fresh new sound for today.

Charlie Wilson, in my humble opinion needs no introduction. But for the young music fans, I will go down memory lane for those wanting to know. Wilson has been upfront and personal in the Gap Band’s overwhelming success going back to the 1970s. As lead singer of the Gap Band they released tracks like “You Dropped The Bomb On Me”, Yearning For Your Love”, “Burn Rubber Burn” and the ever popular “Season No Reasons To Change”. Wilson who was dubbed “the de-facto” father of the new jack , was given credence by artist like Aaron Hall (formerly of Guy) and R Kelly.

Wilson who is currently enjoying success with his latest album entitled “Uncle Charlie”, made a musical entrance or should I say rebirth with the release of “Charlie Last Name Wilson” , about two years ago which made its way on the chart a certified gold. The single, “Charlie Last Name Wilson” was quite an anthem for single men everywhere, who were looking for fresh pick up lines to win the hearts of women. This single written and produced by label mate R Kelly. Wilson collaborated with pop sensation Justin Timberlake On “Signs’. Snoop Dogg and master producer Pharrell Williams teamed up with Wilson on the Grammy nominated “track “Beautiful”. Charlier Wilson is surely appreciating the trends in contempprary music as he ca no doubt compliment the lastest “beats” with his incredible voice and unique stylings. In a recent interview Wilson said he was truly honored to be able to work with todays hottest artists, and thrilled about the success of is music.

To be able to put an equally successful album in a follow up effort tells music critics as well as fans that Wilson cares about quality. A few weeks ago when I received a copy “Uncle Charlie” album, I was hoping that Wilson would deliver like he has in the past. After listening to the record over and over again. I wanted to be sure I was ready toput my pen to paper and tell you that Wilson delivered, and delivery he did.

Judging from the the buzz around town about the Uncle Charlie album, Wilson has got another hit on his hands. He has collaborated with label mate T-Pain on the Supa Sexy track, a truly a great dance tune with some catchy hooklines and the voice of Wilson tearing it up. Wilson was excited to work with T-Pain again. Pain worked with him on Charlie Last Name wilson album, and Wilson said that he was happy he di, as has been watching Pain grow up over the last few years. First of all the song titles on the Uncle Charlie album tells a story of a man who has been around the “love” game long enough and probably broken a few hearts. Also lending his vocals of the remix was Jamie Foxx.

Of course in the tru Charlie Wilson style, “There Goes My Baby is a monster hit from the Uncle harlie album. The lyrics tells a classic story of boy meets girls, but just when you think you have this type of lyrics before, insert Wilson’s baritone voice coupled it with Calvin Richardson and Kenny Babyface Edmonds penmanship and this song a hit you can not miss. After listening to this song, I was thrown way back to my high school days, and those famous summer time jams we all use to love playing on the bopombox at the beach. But gosh, this is also a song for the prom, a wedding song, or just a song hwich tells a story we can all relate to. Oh wait did I say I have a big crush on this track. Let It Out was produced br Gregg Pagani and is a funky joint that should make its way to the dance floors around the world. I am definitely feeling this beat and for sure Charlie…”this one one points me in the right direction”.

When Snoop Dogg listen to the demo for “Let It Out”, he immediately started “to spit’ rhymes and Wilson’ decided that the song was a prefect fit for a Snoop/Wilson collaborations. This joint is a hyper track with Wilson’s vocals reminiesient of his days with the Gap Band, where he was dynamic to sya this least. You wil definitely realize that Wilson is fast forward to 2009 when Snoop chimes in in this track kicking it up a notch. Lyrics on this track is great too, if you cna force yourself to stop dancing.
l
After wearing out this Uncle Charlie record on my MP3 there is no doubt that you should have it in your collection too. Wilson aims to please, he hit this one out of the ballpark. On tour to promote the Uncle Charlie album. Wilson is scheduled to perform on the 2009 Essence Jazz Festival over the July 4th weekend In New Orleans.

  1. May 22, 2009 at 12:07 am

    Nice to hear about Charlie..Excellent blog, nice post. I love the contents and thoughts. I am so proud to vote for this beautiful blog. I VOTED FOR YOU, I recommend your blog to many of my friends. I expect they will Vote for u soon. I hope you will grace me with your precious Vote.Just copy this link to your browser
    http://bloggerschoiceawards.com/blogs/show/69551

  2. May 22, 2009 at 10:36 am

    I checked out your site from the blogger awards and liked it. I voted for you. I hope you win.

    Please check out my site nominated for the best blog design. http://bloggerschoiceawards.com/blogs/show/73022. I hope you will vote for me also. Thanks!

    • dascoop
      May 22, 2009 at 4:23 pm

      I am thouched by your kind words. I am just a big enthusiast of sports and music. Feel free to come back and read. Thanks a bunch. Have agreat day.

    • dascoop
      May 29, 2009 at 7:44 am

      Thanks for the vote I already voted for you too thanks.

  1. May 21, 2009 at 9:48 pm

Leave a Reply

