Home > Music > Her Royal Popness Lady Gaga Has Arrived

Her Royal Popness Lady Gaga Has Arrived

Lady G.

On the urging of my 16-year old daughter, I began listening to Lady Gaga a few weeks ago, and since then I have loaded her “Poker Face” song to my Zune, and now “rocks” this tune daily. Cool points for me. The song is very catchy and the singer/songwriter “Gaga” is pop music’s latest intrigue and phenom, more in the likes of Madonna and Gwen Stefani.

But its not Madonna or Gwen Stefani that Gaga has put on notice. She is indirectly gunning for Katy Perry’s “street cred,” so Katy Perry, you had better watch out, because Gaga is up and about. Lady Gaga is knocking on the door of pop stardom and looks like she is hitting real hard. Lady Gaga struts the streets pants-less, has everyone from Weezer to Justin Timberlake singing her songs and has racked up music sales of nearly 10 million digital singles. Gaga just made the cover of Rolling Stone’s annual Hot List.

In an interview with Brian Hiatt of Rolling Stone Gaga says she did not feel that she looks like the other perfect little pop singers. “I think I’m changing what people think is sexy.” Gaga is also changing what it means to be a 21st century pop star, and she’s doing it through 24 hours a day of fierce work — she’s a walking Gaga art project, known as much for her outrageous fashion sense as her Eighties-flavored dance hits. “The truth is, the psychotic woman that I truly am, comes out when I’m not working.” She is known for rocking the outrageous fashion in the likes of Cyndi Lauper. Her voice is fierce, her musical sound is amazing, and she seems here to stay. But the Rolling Stone cover says it all. Join me and my daughter for the rolling out of the new pop princess….”poker face” style…Lady Gaga.

  1. Ace Amoeba
    May 31, 2009 at 8:05 pm

    I’m loving this Gaga Lovefest going on. I wish she was asexual, and I also did a blog about the Rolling Stone piece.

  1. May 29, 2009 at 1:53 pm

Leave a Reply

