Home > NFL > Rush Limbaugh An NFL Owner – Hell No

Rush Limbaugh An NFL Owner – Hell No

Rush_Limbaugh__Portrait_JPEG
Sports over the years have longed been a safe heaven for me to hide from the everyday stress of life, whether it be the failing economy or the disappearing dividends in my financial portfolio. I have turned to sports, for a good laugh, when I come home to unwind, frankly speaking, I would rather watch sports with friends than have a glass of my favorite wine. Simply because, I get the same satisfaction from a great competition, be it golf with Tiger in the lead on Sunday or Lebron James firing the two second buzzer beater to win the game.

My friendship with sports and other sports fans dig deep in the core of me and I have scored some lifetime friendships with lovers of all things sports. Sports have given me the chance to be friends with the most right-winged Republican to the guy or girl who votes democrat or independent. I have never mixed sports and politics, as I have long thought that it could be bad for my golf swing. I sometimes think Republicans make for better golfers. But I have never held that little voting right or opinion against any of my fellow golfing friends or even another sports fan.

So today when as I found out that there is a slight possibility that Rush Limbaugh could become a contender in the ownership of the St. Louis Rams, I was so disappointed. I am disappointed that the NFL Owners would even consider such a proposal, regardless of how desperate they might get. In an era, where race relations is said to be improving here at home, why would we make a hundred steps backwards to give Rush a say, in something that we sports fan enjoy without seeing color.

As sports fan, I see talent, skill set, determination, drive and ambition and it does not matter if its Phil Mickelson punching a difficult shot from behind a tree and sticking it close to the pin or its Rashard Lewis hitting one from way downtown to eliminate my Cleveland Cavaliers from the conference finals. And something tells me that all sports fans are equally charged in that regard.

To bring Rush Limbaugh into this pure sporting environment, it would be a sad day in history. After all, a large majority of the NFL players are black and Rush Limbaugh has for years disrespected a player or two, using some very colorful and demeaning undertones.

How would we be guaranteed that he would keep his mouth shut on his radio after the Rams has suffered a loss. How can we be sure he would not chant his inner Imus, when a player on his team commits the unthinkable, or gets in trouble with the law? Will he then treat it as a problem plaguing the NFL or just a color problem? Will he bash other NFL players who sport braids, tattoos and dreadlocks, in his quest to clean up the NFL’s image? Or will he be offensive and call out Donavan McNab again, telling him that he is washed up or overrated as a black quarterback.

I do not like this threat of Rush dragging politics and his off-colored remarks into my Sunday or Monday NFL game. Sports is an entertainment outlet for all fans, and so many NFL fans play Monday Morning Quarterback, simply because all NFL fans strongly believe they have the answers for all the errors committed during the game, but tell me, would Rush Limbaugh know to how handle his opinion in the “Red Zone?”

I think, we sport fans would like to either pass on or throw that idea up for an interception. Maybe the referees whould tell Rush that he already has too many unsportsmanlike conduct. Or should we just throw the whole rule book at him and just say no.

  1. JP
    October 6, 2009 at 1:43 pm

    Wow!…Tell me what do you think of a man who, when questioned, admits he doesn’t know the facts but says another group of people (The Cambridge Police Dept.) acted stupidly based on his prejudice against white police officers. Or how about a college professor who makes racist remarks about a policeman’s mother when that policeman was only doing his job? How about a overpaid, untalented excuse for a human being stealing the spotlight at a recent awards ceremony because he feels a black woman should have gotten the award? Time to look in the mirror and ask yourself who the racists REALLY are! Rush has every right to own a football team as much as you do.

  2. October 14, 2009 at 8:02 pm

    I agree with you. I posted an entry about this issue on my blog too.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

