Home > Father's Day Tribute > A Father’s Day Tribute

A Father’s Day Tribute

On the eve of Father’s Day, I would like to pay tribute to the millions of dad’s around the world, who have sacrificed their time for all the children. Also to those dads who have given back to kids, who are not their own. To fathers who are mentors, to fathers who are senators, congressmen, vice presidents, presidents, doctors, farmers, garbage collectors, pastors and human right activists, we say thank you for all your direct and indirect contributions to our children’s lives.

To my very own dad, who gave a totally life long dedication to raising me. Dad, I thank you for loving me and for nurturing me, thank you for marrying my mom. Thanks for the values, for punishing me, for leaving me with the legacy of philosophy, for taking me to my first sporting events, even though I wanted to eat everything in sight.

You see, my dad passed away several years ago along with mom in a brutal car accident. On the day they died I lost my best friends, but most of all I lost my leading man, in everything called life. As I am writing this blog, I am sobbing, not cause he is gone, but because he left me with a legacy. Its hard shoes to fill, especially for a girl, but I have given it a shot.

My dad was wise, intellectual, worldly and my one-man cheering section at my high polo matches, soccer games, tennis matches and debate competitions, yes I was an intellectual jock. But I was most impressed with the way my dad treated the family unit, he was a role model for a husband, a mentor and a friend to other kids. Heck, my mom was impressed enough to marry him.

So years ago when I chose my husband, I quite expected the same. That did not quite work out and after my divorce, I officially took on the role of being a 50/50 parent – 50% mom and 50% dad. It is a hard role to play, and it takes a lot of juggling, being a mom is easy for me, but the dad part has been a challenge, on tough days, I pull for the resources that my dad gave to me. I am also sending out this tribute to the many single moms, grandmas and grandpas who pick the fatherly duties. Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

I also pay tribute to single dads and lift my hat to them, because raising children alone as a man takes a special heart. To the single dads I say thank you for hanging in there. For learning to all things female in order to raise your daughters and for balancing that the home life and career life.

To the dads in the armed forces, I am not quite sure how to thank you all, for serving our country and for protecting our shores. But a warm thanks. Come home soon, be safe and know we are all rooting for you back home.

To the dads in sports, the announcers, the pro-atlethes, producers, coaches and scouts – one word dedication, because I am aware of the sacrifice you put in to be a part of the family unit. To dads who are battling cancer, HIV, AIDS, diabetes, high blood pressure, I wish you the best of health and the support of you children.

So tomorrow, when you wake, pick of the phone call your dad or someone who is a dad, and make them feel special. I will do too, because deep down inside I wish I could call my own dad who is somewhere up in heaven, but I will thank other dads as a tribute to him. Special thanks to yours truly for holding down the fort my kids, then I will go out and play as an honorary member in a father and son tournament, paying tribute again to my dad. Dad, although my game is not half what your was, I will try to score a few birdies and pars in your name.

Happy Father’s Day Dads – Keep up the good work. If for some reason, there is a dad who reads this blog post and feels left out, then you might have not lived up to expectation, however its not too late to start. Make Father’s Day the start of something new.

  1. June 20, 2009 at 6:25 pm

    I believe Dads are should be recognized for all that they do/are! Check out what I created to celebrate my Dad on my website!

  2. June 21, 2009 at 2:09 am

    to all the single moms..

    Single Moms deserve more than just the one Mother’s Day.

    This is my note for all the single moms… I dedicate Father’s Day to my Mom

    Happy Father’s Day, Moms.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

