Home > NBA, NFL > Rashard Lewis And His Elevated Testosterone Levels

Rashard Lewis And His Elevated Testosterone Levels

56597447
If you care about your future as a pro athlete, should you be aware of the
substance(s) you take in your over the counter vitamins? Should you also be aware
of the substance(s) listed on your league’s list of banned substance? The answers
to both questions should be an overwhelming yes.

As an agent who cares about my client and their reputation, I usually dispense harsh words reality to my clients, which sometimes make me persona non grata in their books. But honestly I really don’t care if they accuse me of being zealous, over protective and too cautious, because when they lose monies to fines, I do too. Not only that, I am always available for comments, if the media shoots me a question about my clients, so it would be in my best interest to lay that ground work for a positive comment instead of damage control.

There seems to be a growing trend with the NFL players taking banned substance, and even though the fines and penalties are pretty steep, it seems to continue. But when I learned of the Rashard Lewis incident, I was totally taken for a loop. I also found out that he is the 6th player of all time to have tested positive for a banned substance.

Lewis is like superman on the court, his energy level is always high, and during last season’s playoff he was a force to be reckon with from downtown. It was rather pleasing to see a player like him coming of age at the right time. So how did this happen, how does he fail a drug test due to elevated testosterone levels?

Players make a lot of money and sometimes are not affected by the steep fines attached to these mishaps, but money is money and losing $1.6m, as he is supposed to this season is a bit steep for my liking. Obviously the team has issued a statement echoing their support for him, but I hope they will feel the same way when he is missing for 10 games. What is it worth though, risking the loss of $1.6m only to say that he did not know about the supplements being on the NBA list of forbidden substances.

Is that enough by Lewis’ standard, or am I just the over-bearing, over-zealous and persona non grata agent. At the end of the day, I am proud of those undesirable accomplishments. At least my clients get to keep their cheddar. A serious concern of which, Lewis and his agent should have.

The off season acquisition of Vince Carter and the Magic parting ways with Hedo leaves a lot hanging on the shoulder of Mr. Lewis, and with his mammoth salary, he needed to double down on his knowledge of the specific ingredients of the supplements. Heck, he already has the talent for the Magic’s investment, lets educated Mr. Lewis as to the dos and don’ts of substance abuse. Of course this goes to every diuretic taking NFL player out there in steroids land and god forbid the rest of the NBA.

I am just curious to know how many other NFL or NBA players are consuming vitamins that might cause this kind of result. Note to self Lewis’ agent, please print your client the list and get busy with him, as far as the list of substance goes. Another reminder to agents and players disclosure is crucial on both part, and all of this ill could and will be averted. When in doubt simply Google it.

  1. theblake
    August 11, 2009 at 2:20 pm

    Yet another great post! I totally agree with you here. The players have to know when they are taking questionable substances, and if I were a player, before I put anything in my mouth, I would want to know if it was on the list or not. And if a specific league, such as the NBA in this case, isn’t making the banned substances list as accessible as it should be, then the agent needs to find a way to get his hands on that. This just seems like the best precaution to me, so that this doesn’t happen to Lewis, or anyone else for that matter, in the future.

  2. October 23, 2009 at 3:59 am

    I have extensive experience working with people with substance abuse problems and how these problems interfere in their life.
    Substance Aabuse

    • dascoop
      November 18, 2009 at 10:13 pm

      Thanks for commenting om my blog. Please feel free to stop by again.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

