Home > NFL > My True Confession

My True Confession

mcnabb
There comes a time, when I have to heed a certain call and live up to the values they me in Sunday School. So as a sports fan, diehard Eagles fan and human being with just enough values, I have a confession to make.

Picture the scene though – Lincoln Financial Field players lounge at midnight, hell I am not showing my face during daylight, knowing what sin I am guilty of. My crime – being disloyal to McNabb and the Eagles in my fantasy football league. Stay with me as I take you through my confession. I decided to ask for a meet and confer with the great No. 5 himself, after my conscience wrote me a note.

Heck, I have been an Eagles’ fan for so long and have never committed this ungodly sin. But this year I back slided, due the pressure from the old boys’ club a/k/a the boys in my fantasy league. I really had to show the boys that I was not a homer and did not need to pick my favorite quarterback in order to build a strong team. So I went against what was a custom for several years and decided against McNabb in the days leading up to my draft.

For the meet and speak, I went extreme on my fashion get up, I wore saggy pants, a hoodie and dark glasses. I went against what would be my fantasy attire, if I should ever meet the great one McNabb. I aimed to put on a disguise from the public at large and indeed “The Dman,” heck on second thought I needed more that, if I was going to tell the truth.

The moment of truth arrived and there would be no turning back now. McNabb and I toasted each other, he drank Gatorade and I had a stiff one (Grey Goose was my drink of choice). I tried my hardest to beat around the bush, but he insisted on getting to the point. I could feel McNabb’s piercing eyes ripping apart my disguise. I told him I pick Phillip Rivers in my fantasy league, but he only sighed, saying he did not mind because River is from the AFC. I told him I choose Romo as a backup and Haynesworth and the Redskins for defense. He stood up, peeled my disguise and said “Alice is that really you, I can’t believe this.” So I tried to let him down easy, telling it was me and not him. I revealed a few more harsh realities, like how he lost the Superbowl a few years ago and failed to beat down TO when he started his antics in Philly. I reminded him that I was happy for Vick and Garcia.

McNabb laid out some of his inner feelings too, telling me that he has good intentions, that he was not over the hill, and that he would win out the season for the fans. But I told him that I aware of his good intentions, ability to play and the fact that he is hearing footsteps with every mistake. He was overwhelmed by my confessions as he simply thought I was the only supporter he had through thick and thin. “McNabb, this is not personal, just a fair warning that you need to get well and play well for the rest of the season as Jeff Garcia and Mike Vick are looking pretty good to me. We shook hands on it and I mutually agreed that our talk, would be off limits for his mom – god knows, I am afraid that lady.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

