Home > Alice Meikle > Out With The Old In With The New

Out With The Old In With The New


Hal Borland once said that “the year’s end is neither an end nor a beginning, but instead its a going on, with the wisdom that experience can instill in us”. Since I am no great poet or philospher, I will only say that a year brings about time for reflection, re-evaluation and rejuvenation. Its a time to edit the broken reel, make amends, ask for forgiveness, forgive, and yes more soul searching.

As a divorced single mother of two well-rounded teenagers, I can say that my life has been tested over the last 17 years, but I have always stuck it out. For each year introduces itself with a brand new sets of challenges. But with every challenege, I managed to stay the course, leading my family for another 365 days.

Not everyone is built to play by my ground rules though, and sometimes, I even venture out with my friendship, to help those in need. Sometimes when the times gets rough and quitting could be only one thought away. I re-saddle my horse and and ride the mountains to see the other side of life.

Mainly because, I am never a quitter, I am all for team, yes I am that quarterback who plays hurt, defying all odds to win. So my friends and family always look to me, as the one who is built “Ford Tough”, but even when I feel down, I always rely on one word and one premise – “Tomorrow”, living today moment by moment.

So as 2009 came to a close, my reflection was in line with all my expectations, my re-evalutaion – I took too little time for myself with no regrets, rejuvenation – one day at a time.

As I faced the challenges of as a mother, an employee, a volunteer, a mentor and friend this year, I have always counted my blessings taking on the challenges and goals that were attainable. I am always hold myself accountable with the morals my mom taught me.

So thank you 2009, for the lessons learned, the obstacles, the successes and failures. I will head on into his new year being 2009 reformed and since I have completed the first challenge of 2010 (waking up), I am off to a great start.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

