Home > Sports > NFL Hall Of Fame Called An Incomplete Pass For Shannon Sharpe

NFL Hall Of Fame Called An Incomplete Pass For Shannon Sharpe

Someone asked me yesterday to give my picks for the NFL Hall of Fame, I chose Jerry Rice, Emmitt Smith, Shannon Sharpe, Russ Grimm, John Randall as my sure picks, and was still undecided about anyone else. When the selections were made late Saturday, Shannon Sharpe was not among the finalists.

While watching the post announcement coverage, I could not help but wonder – why not Shannon Sharpe. So I started to think back about Sharpe’s illustrious career. My thought was, if Sharpe was not selected in this year’s Hall of Fame then no other Tight End will before he goes in. After all Sharpe was an eight time probowler, a four-time Associated Press First-team All-Pro selection. Sharpe finished his career with over 200 games, 815 receptions, 62 TDs and 100,060 yards. If for no other reason he should have been selected for his thrash talking, leadership and courage. But I would love to say congratulations to Shannon Sharpe for his contribution to the National Football League and to sports in general. Maybe next year buddy. And so as a treat, I close out with a few famous quotes from the loud mouth one himself:

“I’ve got a better chance of winning the Kentucky Derby on the back of a donkey than they have of winning the Super Bowl with Kyle Boller.” “I’d put up with any distraction they could bring because of the upside. You can’t argue with the touchdowns. I’m sure a lot of GMs would say they wouldn’t want those guys because they might disrupt chemistry in the locker room. And those GMs would be lying.” –

Categories: Sports Tags: , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

