Home > Golf, PGA, PGA Golf, Twitter > I See Pro Golfer John Daly For The Good He Has Done

I See Pro Golfer John Daly For The Good He Has Done

buick-john-daly
As I write this blog post, I am looking back, and is thankful for the path I have travelled as a human being, whether in my career, single motherhood, individually and or as a friend. I think seriously about my successes and failures and I am grateful for the opportunities good or bad. Only since those travels have made me who I am as a person.

I think life and its experiences prepare you seriously for what is to come, but sometimes the road travelled is not all that smooth, sometimes detailing a bumpy ride.

You may wonder why I am pouring my heart out in a sports and entertainment blog, and to you I would say, this is my only venue, to express my feeling, gratitude and emotions. I will also say that, someone needs to hear what I am about to write. And in some weird way, I just want to say how very much life imitates sports and sports definitely imitates life. Leading me right into the real reason for writing this post.

Everyone who knows me, or is just remotely acquainted will tell you that I am a hardcore golf fan, they will tell you also that I have a decent swing and even better golf game. But what they might not know is that I am a self made golf historian (lol). I follow the history of golf by reading about the guys who came before, Arnie, Jack, Ben, Phil and Tiger. But today, as I sit here and write to you, this post will not be about those legends or soon to be. This post will be dedicated to pro golfer John Daly the fighter, “big swing John”, and the humanitarian.

John Patrick Daly was born in Carmichael, California on April 28, 1966, but moved with family to Dardanelle, Arkansas when he was five, and he began playing golf the following year. Daly later attended Helias High School in Jefferson City, Missouri and was a letterman in football and golf, becoming Missouri state champion in golf. He later accepted a scholarship to the University of Arkansas as a member of their golf team.

John has been in the winners’ circle on numerous occasions on the PGA Tour, and you might remember him famously for his historic British Open win years ago. After turning pro in 1991, Daly has endured the highs and lows of professional sports and among and against its best odds, held on to fight his way back from a recent PGA Tour suspension to stops on the European Tour.

jdJohn showed up in Europe with his game in hand, finishing second in the 2009 Italian Open. As he continued playing his stops in Europe, I prayed for him, hoping that he would be back home strutting his stuff for the stateside fans. Never letting us miss a beat on his European voyage, we heard from him via twitter with his “Daly” updates about spending time with his new girlfriend, practice, his new golf fashions and his birthday celebration. Yes we were all rooting for John.

I have been extremely excited about his return to the PGA Tour, yes the dude with the big swing and absolutely perfect finish made strides in the British Open and the Golf Channel and ESPN highlights were my favorite. The comeback kid with the funny pants seemed happy and at ease again.

So recently, when I watched John at the Buick Open, I was saddened, but very hopeful. I realized that life had once again, knock on the wrong door for him. One thing made me hopeful though , was the fact that he always has the fighter power no matter. He has wheeled himself back and risen to the occasion. So I am praying hard that he overcomes all this odds and knocks one in from off the fringe at a PGA Tour stop real soon.

Daly’s career has been interrupted from time to time by off-course personal incidents but has always weathered the storm. Which tells me deep down inside, there is a man who wants to do the right thing.
He recorded an autobiographical album titled My Life, featuring guest performances by Darius Rucker, Willie Nelson, Johnny Lee, and Daron Norwood. He also contributed background vocals for the “Half Your Age” track on the 2007 Kid Rock album entitled Rock And Roll Jesus. I bought the album for the hell of it, because I did not know any golfers who wanted to do the music thing – and was pleasantly surprised.

So, say what you want about John Daly, he is someone, we should all be rooting for, because even in his deepest darkest hour. He has a shining light from within. In my contact with John via twitter, he has always been funny, upbeat and always reaching out to his fans.

Well from what I know about him, playing golf is only one of the reasons why I am a big fan, the other being his commitment to giving back to the community. Which to me says a lot about one’s commitment to life in general and there is no immitation to that.

Daly is known for his involvement in many charities including several in northwest Arkansas. He has donated money to his high school, the Make-A-Wish Foundation, and Boys and Girls Clubs of America. Daly is also an active supporter of the sports programs at the University of Arkansas. He shaved his signature “mullet”, and donated the proceeds from the event to various charities. Daly regularly plays in the celebrity Pro-Am Monday After the Master hosted by his friends, Hootie and the Blowfish.

As my Dad (a wise man) once told me, he said that we should always look for the good people have done, whether for you or someone else, because if you do, that is what you will remember about them. A saying that I hold very near and dear to my heart. Here is hoping Mr. Daly will rise soon to the occasion and be back on his winning ways. Until then, I am one fan who will be praying that he does.

John, if you are reading this blog post, I know a handful of people rooting for you to get better. Hope you are checking your twitter mentions, as @heykim and @deb_dobson all sent their best regards. Don’t turn off that little light that shines from within. Much love and god speed. “tweet you later”

  1. Barbara Thornton
    August 4, 2009 at 4:30 pm

    What a wonderful article…and it’s so true! John has a heart of gold! I will never forget the time he came to the St Jude hospital to visit my niece right before he had to play in the FedEx golf tournament. John does things like that all the time and people don’t always hear that story. Thanks for putting into words what I can not.

  2. Lachlan Kennedy
    August 4, 2009 at 5:31 pm

    There’s more than just a handful. Down here in Australia JD has plenty of people who really appreciate him not just as one of the purest ball strikers to play the game, but also as a battler who is maybe just too honest about his life. I am embarrassed that during his last trip down under, we did not treat him well and yet we are paying Tiger millions. Why we persist in giving people grief because they don’t cover up their hassles (which we all have in spades) to make ourselves feel better is a sad truth of life. I’m sure there are a numbers of PGA members who have some pretty murky stuff in their lives. At my club, (Northlakes GC – Brisbane QLD) we remain in awe of his game, and we regularly agree that it would be great to have a beer and a chat. Between major victories and music ,well good times.

    He shares his brilliant game with the world and behind all of this he is clearly a shrewd businessman and has a deep understanding of community need. We have simply no excuse to give JD a hard time about every little thing. Bottom line, if I could have one round with anyone there would simply be no choice. Love your work JD and I continue to hope that you are appreciated for what matters.

  3. dascoop
    August 5, 2009 at 7:53 am

    I do appreciate your feedback, and apologize for any typos, I would be defeating the purpose to have let my post go without spell check. Point taken, do have a great day. Thanks.

  4. dascoop
    August 5, 2009 at 7:54 am

    Not sure if I should take this as an insult,, but going to give you the benefit of the doubt, do have a gret day. Thanks.

  5. Kim Adele Hastert
    August 5, 2009 at 9:19 am

    Very nice and true article. I completely agree with you. Mr. Daly has a huge heart and so many times the good things that he does get over looked. He and Kid Rock replaced a girls’ golf teams club when they got stolen, but you don’t hear about that stuff in the paper. I will never understand why the media focus’ on the negative. They say it sells but personally I would prefer to read about the good things in life. (which is why I NEVER watch the news ~ they don’t call it TV programing for nothing) I believe they focus on the negative so that they can fill people with anxiety and fear and then during commerical breaks they can try to recommend a pill to fix it. (You know those ads where they list every possible symtom. “do you suffer from yada yada yada…”
    Thank you for writing a positive article about John Daly. I am writing a book called EVERY PGA FAN’S DREAM COME TRUE and there are several chapters about Mr. Daly ~ ALL POSITIVE! I’ve had the good fortune to watch him play many rounds of golf. I was drawn to him because he reminds me of my cousins and of myself. We had similar situations happening in our lives at the same time. I bought his album back in ’06 and it help give me the courage to attend 44 tournaments worldwide and to volunteer for 17. Thanks again for being a positive force. Sincerely Kim Adele Hastert
    PS I wrote him a little song that’s on his website on the guestbook. Have an awesome day.

  6. theblake
    August 5, 2009 at 8:21 pm

    Loved this post! Very well-written, and enjoyed every second of it.

    Like you, I follow JD on Twitter. And to be honest, it just seems like he gets so much joy from interacting with his fans. I really believe he will get things turned around, and though it may not reflect it on the golf course, it will hopefully reflect it in the way he lives his life off the course.

    Best of luck JD, and can’t wait to see you get back out on the course!

  7. Tom Marshall
    August 11, 2009 at 11:32 am

    What a fantastic post. I have been and always will be a John Daly fan. He, like a lot of us, is staring his demons straight in the eye right now. I truly hope he beats them and finds good fortune.

  8. Andy
    September 13, 2009 at 8:03 pm

    Could you give me the second track off John Daly’s album My Life called You Don’t Know Me? I’ll pay you for the single track, I need the song ASAP!!!! Thanks!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment